Skip to content

We Camp 2011!

July 19, 2011

Ever since we moved to Indiana when I was seven, my family has gone on vacation with the Johnson family. We used to go camping all over but now we rent houses. This year we (minus Evan who is missionarying it up in South Africa) rented to small houses in Southern Indiana at Lake Patoka. It was so much fun. Here is a short synopsis of our trip.

Thursday
We worked and got to Lake Patoka at around 10pm. We went to bed right away because we were all tired.

Friday
We woke up early and went to Holiday World. This was a fun day. The best ride was the Pilgrim’s Plunge. The worst was The Voyage…this wooden roller coaster was way to fast and rough. I also hit my head pretty hard on Nate’s shoulder during this coaster and had a headache for the next 2 1/2 days…We also ate some pretty awesome pizza at Kris Kringles Kafe. Thankfully for their free sunscreen stations we did not get sunburn. We were all super tired after Holiday World and went to bed around 8:30 pm.

Saturday
We went to the French Lick resort and walked around the gardens and toured the hotel. We also gambled and Nathan and I won $15! It was exciting, hee hee! Then we went to this 5 star hotel that was absolutely gorgeous! After we killed some time we went on saw Harry Potter 7…*Sniff Sniff*…I’m so sad the series is over! After dinner we went back to the cabins and played card games and told scary stories around the campfire.

Sunday
We rented a pontoon boat and cruised Lake Patoka. It was so fun and relaxing. I finished Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and got a fourth of the way through the Prisoner of Azkaban. I forgot how awesome the books are! Dad caught a fish. I practiced my swimming skills (or lack thereof). Regrettably, we all got sunburn this day…I don’t think any of got spared…Nathan also got bit by a deer tick :(…I’m praying he doesn’t get any diseases from that bite! Hopefully none of us get skin cancer or turn into deer at the expense of that day! It was so fun…We also had an amazing steak dinner! *yum*

Monday
We went home! We ate at an Amish Buffet that smelled like my Grandma Baker’s Kithen *yummmy*. My Grandma Baker definitely makes better Broccoli and Cheese Soup then this place. Once we got home, Nate and I went and saw his sister Kari and our nephews Jay and Asher. They are super cute. Asher slept for at least 30 minutes in my arms. I held him forever though…my arms hurt now…I’m going to have to do some weight lifting before Nate and I start having kids! We also went to the fair and I rode the Scrambler…and I LOVED it! I always thought I would hate the scrambler but it was awesome…I’m sad I have missed out on years of scrambler riding…

This was an awesome weekend! I will be remembering it this upcoming weekend when I’m working at the Loft the whole time :(. I love you family and I love you Johnson’s! I can’t wait for next year! 😀

Old We Camp Picture of all of us

A more recent picture of us, plus a few additions. 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment